Onion Free Taco Seasoning

I know, I know, I’ve been MIA again! Sorry! More on that subject later. But for now I had to share this recipe with you. So here’s to my fellow allergy freaks! 😉

1426633875810

So, due to some new found health “goals”, I had an IGg food sensitivy test done and the results were crazy to say the least. Of all the things it revealed, the single hardest thing I’ve had to give up (even harder than gluten, which I’ve been without for 15 years) is ONIONS!!! I had a pantry full of delicious seasonings and guess what? 95% of them contained onions! Giving up cooking with onions wouldn’t be so difficult in and of itself if all I had to do was stop buying onions, but NOOO, that’s not enough. So here I am embarking on a new journey of making all my own spice blends from scratch. I will share others as I create them!

I pulled this one together last night for dinner, made a big batch and thankfully  it was a big hit with all my boys. Score!

I did measurements in tablespoons so it would be easy to multiply depending on the batch size you want to make. I did a double batch and it was enough to fill a half pint mason jar plus make dinner last night. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

ONION FREE TACO SEASONING:

3 T cumin

2 T chili powder

1.5 T granulated garlic

1.5 T salt

1 T black pepper

.5 T oregano

Combine ingredients in jar and shake, shake, shake, shake, shake! I used 2 T of mix per 1 lb of ground beef for delicious onion free taco meat. Enjoy!

 IMG_20150317_084702

Leave a Reply

