“Make you Banana Pancakes” Mmmmm…

If Jack Johnson music is resonating in your head, at some point or another you’ve probably craved banana pancakes after listening to that song!

My 3 year old rarely makes specific requests for food, but when he does I try my best to fulfill his request as it’s usually actually fairly reasonable. Case in point, earlier this week he wanted pancakes for breakfast. Since I was on a ‘use up the bananas in my freezer’ kick, and I’m trying to be more conscious of what I eat I decided to try the easiest banana pancakes recipe I saw on Pinterest. Here we go:

1 banana

1 egg

Banana pancakes too thin

You can’t really tell here, but this concoction is so thin, it’s nearly impossible to flip. It cooks so fast you have to flip it relatively soon so as not to burn it. (Definitely a low temperature required food!)

20130502_094843

This is what it does after the first flip! So I’ll definitely need to flip it again to get that raw part to cook.

Banana pancake thin mess

Argh!!!! Back to the drawing board. I’d just seen another recipe for banana pancakes on the internet. Let’s try that…Hmm…too complex. Don’t have all those ingredients. What can it do without?…Think, think, think! Aha! I’ll just add 1 Tbsp of coconut flour for each egg/banana. (And yes, for some reason I had coconut flour in my house!)

Banana pancakes thickend1

Much better! Almost a little too thick though, I’ll give it a good shake and try to flatten out that mound!

Banana pancake thickened2

Okay…okay, now let’s see how it flips!

20130502_101648

BAM!

Banana pancake final

We have banana pancakes! So not only is my son satisfied, because he has pancakes upon request, mom is satisfied knowing she’s not eating grains for breakfast and getting good protein! My new recipe:

Banana Pancakes (gluten free/grain free)

1 banana

1  egg

1Tbsp coconut flour

multiply by the number of mouths you plan to feed!

Leave a Reply

