Ice Cream for Breakfast!

That’s right, I said it! In an effort to get my 1 year old to eat, I made the infamous “ice cream” recipe we see floating around the internet. It’s healthy, it’s natural, it has ONE ingredient. So here’s my experience:

banana icecream prep with text

This is supposed to be a great way to use up your ripe bananas as well! I let my bananas get pretty ripe as you can see. Peel and slice the bananas and freeze them in bag. Due to the ripeness of my bananas I laid mine on a piece of wax paper in a single layer and placed them in my zipvac bag. I didn’t want to just throw them in and have a big glob of frozen banana!

processing bananas with text

Once frozen, you can use a food processor or blender to blend the bananas into a smooth ice cream like texture. If you’re like me and only have a dinky 2 cup food processor you bought to  make homemade baby food and then had a child who refused to eat the delightfulness you poured your sweat into making him, take note: I didn’t get a satisfactory consistency with my food processor so I recommend the blender! Either way, due to the small blade, you’ll need your rubber spatula (aka scraper) to push down the sides during blending. (STATING THE OBVIOUS: you’ll want to turn the motor off for that step…MOM!) She knows what I mean!

The result!

Banana ice cream with text

My taste test revealed that using overly ripe bananas results in an overly ripe banana flavored “ice cream”. I added about a tsp (I never measure!) of Wildtree Chocolate Lover’s Syrup. We like to eat our ice cream out of coffee mugs so here you see my soft serve like chocolatey goodness. Needless to say, my 1 year old ate it like a champ! A single banana made about the equivalent of a large scoop of ice cream. In the future I will be using a less ripe banana! I’m sure it would be AMAZING with some frozen berries thrown in there! I used the chocolate syrup as a quick fix as my son was WAITING… and I figured he’d like the overly ripe banana flavor as much as I! 😛

I hope you found this helpful and “real” as the sites I found showed that perfect consistency that probably comes with practice. Just because it doesn’t look like the other guys, doesn’t mean it doesn’t taste just as good! Also, if you make a large batch and put it back in the freezer, I’m sure it will look more like real ice cream!

2 thoughts on “Ice Cream for Breakfast!

Leave a Reply

